Hey Kids! Let’s Play Necromancer! – An Easter Activity

Let me begin by explaining how this whole thing went down. A couple years ago I saw this photograph:

Image

They look delicious. Don’t deny it.

I was determined to locate a recipe for these so I could fast forward to the eating part. However, once I did I got much more than I bargained for. Apparently, they are called “Resurrection Rolls” and these Eastertide treat instructions are written out as an activity to do with your children. Since I originally discovered the rolls, I have learned that this is a very common and popular activity to do with children during the Easter holiday among American Christian families, in churches, at Christian private schools and at home.

First, you take some crescent rolls – these will serve as the burial shroud. Be sure to explain that to your kidlets.

Image

Then, Goddess help me, we are instructed to get a little racist by taking a marshmallow to represent Jesus because he’s “all white and pure” – you know, like a marshmallow.

Image

Next dip your Jesus in “embalming oils” aka some melted butter.

Follow it up by rolling the Jesus-mallow in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar – “This is like the spices used to prepare his body for burial.”

Image

Finally, wrap Jesus in his burial shroud and place him in the “tomb,” (a 350 degree oven).

Bake for twelve minutes – clearly, he has risen. Congratulations, you are now a necromancer!

Image

 

Resources

Original recipe and instructions can be found at Eat At Allies

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey Kids! Let’s Play Necromancer! – An Easter Activity

  1. tinkyweisblat says:

    Good heavens! I’m American and go to a Protestant church, and I have never heard of such a thing. Thanks–I think.

Leave a Reply

